Review: Far East Taco Grille

The burrito bowl from Far East Taco Grille - Valerie Bonk/Georgetown.

The burrito bowl from Far East Taco Grille – Valerie Bonk/Georgetown.

Mexican food is easy to grab on the run, and Far East Taco Grille, which launched September 2011 in DC hoped to give Taco Bell and Chipotle some competition with its freshly prepared mexican meals.

I decided to give it a try and see what all the talk was about the truck while it was stationed along with the dozens of other trucks around lunchtime in Franklin Park.

I’m a Chipotle fan and I’m pretty hard to please when it comes to my burrito bowls, but I thought I’d see how Far East interpreted the deconstructed meal.

The bowl was pricey at $8, but included enough food to munch on through dinner time.

I ordered the chicken bowl with white rice, salsa verde, smoked pinto beans, mushrooms, corn and shredded cheese. Other protein options included “powerful” steak, “sweet sexy” tofu, and “spicy flying pig (pork).”

The other options for sals included Roja and Naranja. The other vegetable options (which you get an unlimited choice of) were fajita peppers, zucchini, and sprouts.

The chicken was delectable. I’m very picky when it comes to chicken. I’m one of those weird people who dissects chicken when there’s even a microscopic amount of fat on it. I ate every bite of this bird.

The mushrooms were absolutely delicious. I could’ve gone for more of them. They only gave me about a dozen small slices, which I personally felt was stingy since they brought a lot of flavor and pizazz to the dish.

The beans, corn and salsa left much to be desired. The flavor was semi bland and after the smoky and spicy flavors from the mushrooms and chicken, I expected much more.

I would definitely dine here again, but might add some hot sauce to satisfy my taste buds. I’m interested in chowing on some of their tacos.

For more information on what they offer and how to track them down, visit the Far East Taco Grille website here.

Leave a Reply

